There is no try. There is only do.

Still more reasons for being terrible:
There are more chances in life to do nothing than there are to do something.
Like Dumbledore said, “Soon we all must face the choice between what is right, and what is easy.”
It’s kind of a cheeseball quote, to be honest, but for some reason I can’t help it from popping into my head from time to time.
Yesterday I pulled into the parking lot on time to go to class, then realized I had basically forgotten everything. Yes, more or less everything I needed for class, including my homework and a book.
Cursing my brilliance, I drove home really quickly and grabbed the aforementioned items, and was about ten minutes late to class.
On the way there, a man was standing in the Piazza, the center of our school by the fountain, holding a clipboard. As I approached he said, “Miss, would you like to help the disabled?”
Without really thinking I said, “No, I’m late to class.”
What kind of a horrible human being says that? No, I don’t want to help the disabled because I’m late to my oh so meaningful GE Spanish class where we’re going to talk about what type of comida we like to comer?
The day before that I went to see a magic act which was very cool and produced the usual “I need to know how he did that or I will die” effect. Afterwards he told his testimony about how he became a Christian through his battle with Leukemia because one person was able to be his bone marrow donor. Under our seats was a form that allowed us to sign up to be donors as well – all it would take was some paperwork and a cheek swab to be put into the registry.
But I didn’t do it. I mean, I do have a factor V Leiden blood deficiency gene, but I don’t think that would stop me from donating marrow. I used it as my excuse though. Why? Because it wasn’t easy.
It wasn’t easy to be a little more late to class to see what the guy with the clipboard was talking about, and it wasn’t convenient to take my time to fill out the form.
Instead I did nothing.
I find this happening to me a lot. I see a problem. I want to fix it. I don’t. Because in order to do that, I’d have to actually get up and put some effort into doing something about it, talk to people, do a little work. And that’s not easy. Doing nothing is easy. Doing something is hard. Here’s to doing more something.

Leave a Reply

