Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue

Scratch that title. I live in southern California. Skies are blue right now. With the sun shining, and birds singing, and big puffy white clouds and all. So why are people behaving like the heavens have opened up and fire and brimstone are raining down upon us?

Oh, right. The dawn of finals week is upon us. I fully realize that this is a stressful time for everyone, myself included, and I’m not trying to detract from that at all. School is important. You all have your right to feel stressed out, maybe allow yourself one emotional breakdown or personal box of Krispy Kreme donuts. But why do we all have to act like the world is ending?

The first thing to start is people whining about how atrocious their week looks and how their life is now over because they have to take their exams. I almost want to de-activate my facebook around this time. Not only would it probably help me stay more focused on my own finals, but I would be free of the posts visually assaulting me with complaints about how Jenny is feeling stressed so she ate three pints of ice-cream.

I have heard not one, but multiple people saying that they will “literally die” from the amount of studying they must do. Please, someone tell me if studying can actually kill you, because if that’s true, I’ll stop right now. But in the meantime, I’ll just pray that my books don’t suddenly gain sentience and attempt to beat me to death.

I would also like someone to explain to me how difficult it is to put on real clothes. When I get out of bed in the morning, I put my legs in my pants one at a time. I pull them up and use a zipper. Maybe carpal tunnel syndrome is plaguing more than 50% of the female population at my school, but I didn’t even see this many yoga pants in my actual yoga class. I also do not find putting on shoes a particular hassle, but it seems like my entire college has forgone the arduous task of lacing up their footwear and opted to don slippers in their time of need.

I understand people need to complain in order to vent. If we didn’t, we might explode. But please, let’s gain some perspective here. We knew what we were signing up for when we were going into this. We saw our syllabus on the very first day of school. We chose to go to college. So please, don’t act like life as we know it is over. I’d hate to see how you react if it actually was.

Leave a Reply

